NAFTA Immigration Provisions

On December 17, 1992, the Presidents of the United States and Mexico, and the Prime Minster of Canada entered into the North American Free Trade Agreement (“NAFTA”). This agreement, as it relates to immigration, intends to facilitate the movement of U.S., Canadian and Mexican business persons across each country’s border through streamlined procedures.

NAFTA permits investment, trade, and professional commerce services to take place among the U.S., Canada and Mexico. There are four NAFTA non-immigrant visa categories in U.S. Immigration Law:

  1. Temporary Visitors for business (B-1 Visa);
  2. Treaty trader and Investors (E Visas);
  3. Intra-company transferees (L-1 Visa); and
  4. Treaty National Professionals (TN Visa).